About The Theatre Royal (St Helens) Trust

The Trust was incorporated on 14 February 1986 with its own Memorandum and Articles of Association, which govern its objects and how it is to be managed, under Company no.1989869.

The Trust is also registered as a charity under charity no 518247.  The business of the Trust is managed by a Trust Board whose membership originally reflected the interests of the former County Council as well the Borough Council and the Friends of the Theatre and the former Merseyside Arts.  Originally the Board comprised 9 Directors of whom five were nominated by the former County Council, one each by the Borough Council and two by the Friends.  In 1988, at the request of the former Merseyside Residuary Body, the successor to the County Council, the overall voting control of the Residuary Body was written out of the Articles and the Board replaced with a Board comprising 8 ‘A’ directors appointed for three years at a time with a right to seek re-election, two ‘B’ directors nominated by the Friends and one ‘B’ director nominated  by St Helens Borough Council, each for one year at a time.  For some years the Board has thought it appropriate to seek to fill casual vacancies occurring among the ‘A’ directors by public advertisement.  The last casual vacancy was filled, at the invitation of the Board, by a nominee of the St Helens Chamber.

The Trust’s objects are to promote, maintain, improve and advance education, particularly by the production of plays, operas, ballets, concerts and exhibitions, and the encouragement of the arts, including the arts of drama, mime, dance, singing and music and to formulate, prepare and establish schemes therefore.

As at 1 November 2010 membership of the Board comprises –

Mr W H Baldwin - Chairman Mr N Pearson
Mr D H Callan Miss E Pennington
C’lllor B Grunwald Mrs P Robinson
Mr A McGhee Mr N Wilding

Mr R B Platt is the Company Secretary